Meet the Winners of the 2019 Orvis-Endorsed Awards


Orvis Fly Shop of the Year
Angler’s Covey, Colorado Springs, Colorado

From Orvis:

Guides, lodge owners and outfitters from around the world convened in Missoula, Montana, on April 26, 2019, for the Orvis Guide Rendezvous to learn who would take home a coveted 2019 Orvis-Endorsed Award.

Each year, for thirty-three years, the Orvis Company has recognized excellence in sporting experiences through its Endorsed Lodges, Outfitters, and Guides Program (ELOG). These awards are based on a number of criteria, the most important of which is customer feedback: the reviews from the customers who have experienced these operations are the ultimate arbiters of success. Also taken into consideration are the operation’s environmental commitment to and stewardship of their resources, and their partnership with Orvis in providing the finest sporting experience possible.

“These awards are dictated by our customers and their experiences as well as the operation’s environmental commitment,” said Scott McEnaney, director of Orvis Adventures. “Through customer surveys and industry feedback we’re able to identify the best guides, shops and lodges each year and recognize them among their peers.”

“The endorsed program has more than 300 partners currently enrolled,” added Steve Hemkens, vice president of Orvis Rod and Tackle. “These partners represent world-class fisheries, destination schools and experiences from Argentina to Mongolia, as well as throughout the U.S.”

More than three decades ago, Orvis embarked on a mission to make planning a world-class fly-fishing or wingshooting experience easier. Since then, the company has sought out the best operations and works alongside them to perfect their systems, their facilities, and most importantly, the associated customer experience. The result is the Orvis-Endorsed Program.

Here are the winners (below) for 2019:

Fly-Fishing Lodge of the Year
Crystal Creek Lodge, King Salmon, Alaska 

Wingshooting Lodge of the Year
Southwind Plantation, Attapulgus, Georgia 

International Destination of the Year
Hawk Lake Lodge, Kenora, Ontario, Canada 

Fly-Fishing Outfitter of the Year
Cross Current Guide Service & Outfitters, Starlight, Pennsylvania 

Freshwater Fly-Fishing Guide of the Year
Chip Swanson, Breckenridge Outfitters, Breckenridge, Colorado 

Saltwater Fly-Fishing Guide of the Year
Capt. Duane Baker, Tavernier, Florida 

Wingshooting Guide of the Year
Ryan O’Shaughnessy, Alpine, Texas 

Orvis Fly Shop of the Year
Angler’s Covey, Colorado Springs, Colorado 

2019 Lifetime Achievement Award
Lonnie Allen, Three Rivers Ranch, Warm River, Idaho 

For more information please click here.


Leave A Reply