OWAA Welcomes Three New Board Members


From OWAA:

Jack Ballard, Nick Lowrey, and Emily Stone have been elected to seats on OWAA’s board of directors. Their three-year terms begin at the June 24 board meeting during the summer conference in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Board members are elected by OWAA’s membership, which also approved a bylaws amendment that was on this year’s ballot.

Ballard, a 21-year-member of OWAA, has two previous terms on the board and one as OWAA’s treasurer. He currently serves as an Endowment Trustee for the organization.

Ballard lives in Red Lodge, Montana, and has attended 15 conferences. He has had hundreds of articles published in more than 50 magazines or other publications, and has more than 1,000 photos featured in books, calendars, magazines and other media. A book author as well, he frequently writes in areas of big-game hunting, upland bird hunting, fly fishing, wildlife natural history, conservation, and other outdoor recreational pursuits.

Lowrey is a reporter for South Dakota News Watch and lives in Pierre, South Dakota, where he was formerly the managing editor of the Capital Journal newspaper and editor of South Dakota Outdoors. His outdoor writing has appeared in newspapers all over South Dakota and in regional magazines. Lowrey helped South Dakota Outdoors expand its distribution, built a state Capitol news bureau and most recently guided the launch of the newspaper’s re-design.

Stone is the naturalist/education director at the Cable (Wisconsin) Natural History Museum. She writes Natural Connections, a popular column published in more than 20 local and regional newspapers. She also produces a podcast by the same name, and recently published her second book – “Natural Connections: Dreaming of an Elfin Skimmer.”

The bylaws amendment, approved by 95 percent of members who voted, changes paragraph 7.1 to read: “Only Active or Life members in good standing for at least three years immediately preceding the election may be elected as Directors.”

Outgoing board members are Robert Ford (Pennsylvania), Karen Loke (Texas) and Christine Peterson (Wyoming).


Leave A Reply